Berkeley Symphony & Friends


Martinů & Brahms

May 6

At 5pm

Rene Mandel

Rene Mandel

Berkeley Symphony & Friends

Chamber V: Martinů & Brahms

Sunday, May 6 at 5 pm

Violinist René Mandel, Berkeley Symphony’s Executive Director, will perform a chamber music concert at the Piedmont Center for the Arts on Sunday, May 6. He will be joined by longtime friend Peter Wyrick, a cellist with San Francisco Symphony, and the brilliant young pianist Britt Day, performing Brahms’ Piano Quartet No. 1 in G Minor, Op.25. 

It is the fifth concert in this year’s series of Berkeley Symphony & Friends chamber concerts in Piedmont.  

A reception hosted by the Berkeley Symphony board will follow the concert.  

Tickets are $25 in advance and $30 at the door, subject to seating availability.

Advance tickets are available:

or call the Symphony box office at 841-2800, ext. 1.


In the first half, two essential works by composers often overlooked, but each superlatively important in their own right: Martinů as the eclectic voice of Czechoslovakia in the middle part of the 20th century, and Rebecca Clarke as one of the most innovative British composers of the 1910s and ‘20s and one of the most important women in music history. The program concludes with a work written early in Brahms’ mature period, a piano quartet whose formal ingenuity made it a favorite of Schoenberg and whose compelling lyricism and dramatic scope ensure its status as a perpetual favorite of audiences as well.


Bohuslav Martinů: Duo No. 1 for Violin and Cello, H.157

Rebecca Clarke: Sonata for Viola and Piano

Brahms: Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25


René Mandel, violin
Deanna Badizadegan, viola
Peter Wyrick, cello
Britt Day, piano